CONGRESS.GOV

June 17, 2008 - Issue: Vol. 154, No. 100 — Daily Edition

110th Congress (2007 - 2008) - 2nd Session

Entire Issue (PDF 2MB) **Browse By Date**

Sections in This Issue:

Daily Digest Senate

House of Representatives

Extensions of Remarks

All in Extensions of Remarks section

18 of 57





A TRIBUTE TO THE 2008 ELLIS ISLAND MEDAL OF HONOR RECIPIENTS; Congressional Record Vol. 154, No. 100

(Extensions of Remarks - June 17, 2008)

Text available as: TXT | PDF (243KB) | View TXT in new window

Formatting necessary for an accurate reading of this text may be shown by tags (e.g., <DELETED> or <BOLD>) or may be missing from this TXT display. For complete and accurate display of this text, see the PDF.

[Extensions of Remarks]

[Page E1241]

From the Congressional Record Online through the Government Publishing Office [www.gpo.gov]

A TRIBUTE TO THE 2008 ELLIS ISLAND MEDAL OF HONOR RECIPIENTS

HON. DAN BURTON

of indiana

in the house of representatives

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Mr. BURTON of Indiana. Madam Speaker, I rise today to congratulate the 2008 recipients of the coveted Ellis Island Medal of Honor. Presented annually by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO) -- a group representing more than 250 organizations that span the spectrum of ethnic heritages, cultures and religions -- the Ellis Island Medal of Honor pays tribute to our Nation's immigrant heritage, as well as individual achievement. The medals are awarded to U.S. citizens from various ethnic backgrounds who exemplify outstanding qualities in both their personal and professional lives, while continuing to preserve the richness of their particular heritage. Since NECO's founding in 1986, more than 1,700 American citizens have received Ellis Island Medals of Honor, including 6 American Presidents, several United States Senators, Congressmen, Nobel Laureates, outstanding athletes, artists, clergy, and military leaders.

As we all know, citizens of the United States can trace their ancestry to many nations. The richness and diversity of American life makes us unique among the Nations of the world and is in many ways the key to why America is the most innovative country in the world. The Ellis Island Medals of Honor not only celebrate select individuals but also the pluralism and democracy that enabled our ancestors to celebrate their cultural identities while still embracing the American way of life. This medal is not about money, but about people who really seized the opportunities this great country has to offer and who used those opportunities to not only better their own lives but make a difference in the lives of those around them. By honoring these outstanding individuals, we honor all who share their origins and we acknowledge the contributions they and other groups have made to America. I commend NECO and its Board of Directors headed by my good friend, Nasser J. Kazeminy, for honoring these truly outstanding individuals for their tireless efforts to foster dialogue and build bridges between different ethnic groups, as well as promote unity and a sense of common purpose in our Nation. Madam Speaker, I ask all of my colleagues to join me in recognizing the good works of NECO, and congratulating all of the 2008 recipients of the Ellis Island Medals of Honor. I also ask unanimous consent that the names of this year's recipients be placed into the Congressional Record following my statement.

LTC Madelfia A. Abb; Noubar B. Afeyan, PhD; Charles R. Ajalat, Esq.; Robert A. Altenkirch; Hon. Goli Ameri; Roger E. Ashley; Ahoud Avshalomov; Anthony P. Basile; Vasile Beluska; Daniel O. Bernstine; William Boesch; John William Butler, Jr.; LT Jack J. Cambria; Hon. Ben Nighthorse Campbell; Dr. Brian Carty, FSC; Dr. Samir Narayan Chaudhuri; Col. Dik Cheung, MD; Dr. Karlene ChinQuee; Annette Choolfaian; Abla A. Creasey, PhD; Hon. Joseph Crowley; Edward Deeb; Arthur A. Dugoni, DDS, MSD; Christopher Erikson; Richard Farkas; Peter B. Fodor, MD, FACS; Valentin Fuster, MD, PhD; Robert L. Ganley; Hon. George A. Grasso; Hon. Joseph R. Guccione; Noosheen A. Hashemi; Stephan S. Huh; Hon. Dora L. Irizarry; E. Neville Isdell; Chief Anthony J. Izzo; Dr. Stuart W. Jamieson; Trevor O. Jones; Patrick J. Kelly, MD, FACS; James W. Keyes; Laya Khadjavi; Darioush Khaledi; Parisa Khosravi; Daewon Khym; Peter J. Kight; Wilson Ko, MD; MG Anthony R. Kropp; Pamela H. Kwatra; William Landberg; Fred Horst Langhammer; Anthony J. Lariccia; Young Bin Lee, MD; BGen. Paul E. Lefebvre; Robert H. Lessin; Demetrios G. Logothetis; Col. Eugene V. Lombardo; F. Joseph Loughrey; Xindi Lu; Terry J. Lundgren; Franklin R. Manios; Matthew J. McCoy; General Duncan J. McNabb; Maria Mehranian; Leo Melamed; Lewis C. Merletti; Bernd (Ben) Messing; Benjamin Mevorach; Avid Modjtabai; Jacqueline Murekatete; Mary Najarian; Vartkes Najarian, MD, FACS; Jacques Nasser; Long V. Nguyen, PhD; Franco Nuschese; CAPT. Robert R. O'Brien, Jr.; Ronald J. Onesti; Maria Otero; Randy Y. Owen; Mehmet C. Oz, MD, FACS; Laurice Y. Parkins; Richard P. Parrillo; Mukesh (Mike) Patel; Bhupendra R. Patel, MD;

Gloria Perez; Hon. August B. Pust, PhD; Robin D. Rapaport; Lt. Cdr. Tamsen A. Reese; Michael P. Ricatto; Daniel M. Rooney; Thomas P. Rosandich, PhD; Harut M. Sassounian; Dhiraj H. Shah, MD; Jerome Shaw; Hon. Paull H. Shin; Sampat S. Shivangi, MD; Gary A. Sinise; Theodore M. Solso; Dr. Theodore J. Strange; Hon. Evelyn Lundberg Stratton; Haldun Tashman; Gerald N. Tirozzi, PhD; Stephen J. Trachtenberg; Nadadur Vardhan; Victor S. Wahby, MD; Aldona Z. Wos, MD; Chun To (Tony) Yeung; Louis S. Zamperini.

All in Extensions of Remarks section



18 of 57

